· 

Why you must do"Rei"?

I fell gap real original sense of Judokas from Japan and European Judokas.

 

Totally different.

This differences are about bowing.

This bowing action launch and end all fights on mats.

 

The most difficult thing to accept in my sense is low hand touching or shaking after bow of ending fights.

I would say, it's not original style of judo, but nice attitude as sports people, as athletes.

To speak with my Japanese sense, it's duplication.

Bowing is just enough for Japanese players to thank opponents; and in Japanese old period, it was the safest way not to touch or being touched by the opponents even with respect each others.

 

But now I can understand why European Judokas do this after my living in Poland 1 year, greeting with hugging is simply happier than only bowing to people. I noticed that happiness when I backed in Japan in the last Christmas time. I was planning to make hug with my family members, but I couldn't hug them till the end of the time with my family. I'd noticed I never made hug with our parents after my lovely baby time finished.

I think that's the typical Japanese sense.

 

And now, as we recognize the globalization of the world, good cultures are exported and imported, started to be mixed.

Every people finds their own styles today.

 

Last weekend, I was in Fuengirola- Spain to attend European Cup with my players. Then I saw one situation and felt my heart's hurting at one fight.

At the fight, Israel player was forced to bow, he was doing like nodding and i thought "Ah maybe he can't bow because of his (religious) piety." But he was forced by referee without respect to his god. Some religion can't allow these believers to bow except for your god.

 

If Judo is a global sport even as if Budo, why don't we accept the all kind of people to full enjoy this sport with just letting them be theirselves?

 

So today's #NEWJUDO is the new opinion and also suggestion, to let players act, express their appreciation and respect to the opponents by their own expression ways.

 

It doesn't have to be forced bowing.

But this new actions must mean respect and appreciation.

Because this is exactly why we have to do bowing in present rules.